这里 > 主页 > 一般疑问

一般疑问

产品

编织系列-全金属丝编织网

参照你的使用大约有六种,对于暴露的部分可以提供高效的屏蔽性能

泡棉系列-导电泡棉屏蔽衬垫

在内芯外包裹高导电性的纤维。可以提过不同的颜色和功能

窗系列-屏蔽窗

良好的透视性和屏蔽性,尺寸完全按照顾客的需要

硅胶系列-定向金属丝硅橡胶

长寿命和伸缩性的金属丝插入到固体状或海绵状的硅橡胶。具有防火,放水和化学稳定的作用

其它系列-专用材料

超薄的材料可以以板材供给或是冲成客户需要的形状

通风板系列-衰减通风板

电池兼容通风板是在保证屏蔽的前提下,完美的对于空气流通效果。所使用的材料包括铝制的蜂窝和电镀的或镀锡的钢.

导电系列-导电橡胶

包含金属颗粒的高导电性硅胶条。可供选择的金属颗粒有石墨或是纯银,导电硅胶提供高的衰减率和优秀的环境密封

指型弹簧片

有效的,不易燃,长寿命的可以以条材或冲成不同的样式用于电子产品

导电箔带

我们的导电箔带对于电磁屏蔽兼容提供有效的解决。箔带包含铜箔和铝箔并且附带导电胶

连接器衬垫

从选择的材料,用手加工而成或是冲成

导电胶

部分导电介质填充的RTV硅树胶导电胶合剂

不导电的衬垫

选择不同的材料来做不导电的衬垫以满足顾客的要求

电磁屏蔽是如何产生的?

当磁线路通量遇到高渗透性的材料的时候,磁力就会被这材料吸附,从而磁力就不能对原先目标产生影响。

最有效的电磁屏蔽物是四周都封闭的物体,比如是一盒子或是汽缸盖。磁场只能到达封闭物体的表面,因此这个封闭的物体就可以阻止磁场进到里面以产生不必要的电磁干扰。

磁场是如何产生的?

大多数的磁场都是人为制造的。螺线管,发动机,变压器等都可以产生磁场。我们可以用磁场来制造声音,精微的图像,并且可以通过电磁共振技术来记录共振子图像。在一些情况下,磁场会干扰一些敏感的电子设备,这时候我们就需要电磁屏蔽。

什么是电磁干扰?

电磁干扰(EMI)是指电磁能量对电子或是其他用电设备的性能产生不良影响,甚至致使这些设备不能运转。

什么是电磁兼容?

电磁兼容(EMC)是指电子设备本身的一种性能,这种特殊的性能能使该电子设备不受电磁干扰的影响而正常运转。

为什么电磁场所需要电磁屏蔽?

电磁干扰让很多电子产品的设计者感到头痛。拿我们使用的手机举个例子,设计者在设计手机的时候考虑到射频干扰,就要设计一个屏蔽装置来屏蔽射频,防止其他电子设备对手机的正常使用产生影响。设计者可能会发现聚集在一起的电子装配组件之间会存在电磁干扰,这时候就需要电磁屏蔽。当电磁干扰伴随一定的射频的时候,电磁屏蔽就显的非常的重要,因为只有屏蔽才能保证电子设备的正常运行。

什么能够阻止磁场?

到目前为止,还没有一种材料能既不被磁铁吸引,又能阻止磁场。我们不能创造或是取消磁场,我们只能改变磁场的方向。为了改变磁场的方向,我们使用高渗透性的屏蔽合金。磁力就会被这些屏蔽材料吸附,从而磁场的方向就会发生改变。

为什么要做到电磁兼容?

尽管不符合相关规定的电子产品不能在欧共体市场上进行销售,但是还是存在一些非法的厂家,生产一些会对我们生活有影响的产品。这些产品会影响我们的健康和安全,数据处理的安全和重要电子设备的正常运行。如果没有很好的电磁屏蔽,防滑煞车系统,引擎控制系统,长途通讯和数据传播,以及商业和军事数据的传播的安全性都会大打折扣。

其他还存在一些问题,比如手机和电脑屏幕的电磁辐射对健康造成的危害,以及住在高压线附近的健康隐患等等,这些都使得我们大家对电磁兼容逐渐开始关注。一些问题可以很容易的得到控制,但是还有一些问题却还会继续存在。高强度的核爆炸产生的电磁脉冲会使各种商业通信和数据处理瞬间崩溃,会使那些非防核的军事网络也在瞬间停止运转。

换句话说,会导致一片混乱,我们将没有通信,没有电,没有电视,收音机等和外界沟通的媒体,我们也将失去各种交通工具。

电磁干扰问题的主要根源是什么?

任何情况下,都有一个问题的根源和该问题的受害者。电磁干扰主要是由于我们在使用电子设备的时候,瞬间的改变其电压或是电流强度,从而使电子设备释放离散频率的电磁能。

除了一些自然现象,比如大气干扰和闪电,产生的电磁干扰外,传导和辐射产生的电磁干扰包括:

  • 雷达和通信发射机
  • 接收机本机振荡器
  • 电脑和其外围设备
  • 发动机和变电箱
  • 输电线
  • 荧光灯
  • 电焊机和其他一系列的东西。。。。。

如何解决电磁干扰?

简单的来说,将电子设备放到一个完全封闭的钢铁盒子里面就可以解决屏蔽问题了。

但是这是不可能的,因为在一个完全封闭的钢铁盒子里面是没有电,能见度也几乎为零,电子设备在里面运行的话一下子就会变的很热。

因此,我们需要在这个封闭体上适当的开些通风的管道,能让电缆进出,使空气可以流通,也使我们能够清晰的看到LED/LCD/CRT的显示器。

我们安放电子设备的封闭场所一般都是用钢,铝或是塑料做成的。塑料由于其在设计上的美学价值,已经逐渐流行起来了。我们在用塑料来制作封闭场所的时候,需要在它的外面在涂一层金属化合物。除此以外还有一种方法,就是是用铝或是铜箔做内衬,这样也能使封闭体达到很好的屏蔽效果。

简而言之,在多数情况下,金属(或是金属化)的封闭体需要有个衬垫,用于密封啮合面和提供必要的电流阻抗;需要有个屏蔽通风板,用于空气的流通;需要有个屏蔽视窗,防止安装显示器的地方在封闭体上留下个无法接受的大缺口。

检查板和门上面应该安装软性的衬垫或是指形簧片,这样可以达到良好的屏蔽效果,并且这种软性衬垫或是指形簧片比较经久耐用,检查板和门即使安装上以后也能开关自如。

电缆接头处也应该安装衬垫。如果有需要的话,屏蔽电缆还需要用导电密封圈连接。

什么是射频干扰?

射频干扰(RFI)被认为是电磁干扰的一个组成部分,其干扰信号的频率正好处于无线电频率范围内。以前射频干扰和电磁干扰这两个说法是可以相互替代的。传导射频干扰一般发生在低频段,从几千赫兹到30M赫兹。辐射射频干扰一般发生在频率介于30M赫兹到10G赫兹之间。

射频和磁屏蔽之间的区别是什么?

当我们需要阻止100K赫兹及以上的干扰磁场的时候,我们就要使用射频屏蔽。这些屏蔽场所一般使用铜,铝,钢或是导电的橡胶,塑料或是油漆等材料。因为这些材料具有良好的导电性能,并且几乎不被磁场渗透,所以适用于高频地区。电磁屏蔽物用它们本身极强的渗透性将磁力吸附住,从而改变磁场的方向。 电磁屏蔽合金,只要安装得当,可以起到一个宽带电磁屏蔽物的作用,可以屏蔽射频和其它磁干扰。

在选用衬垫的时候我该注意些什么东西?

安放电子设备的屏蔽场所的设计往往会限制衬垫材料 的选择。有些屏蔽场所是用轻质的铝甚至是塑料做的,当屏蔽 衬垫受到压力的时候,这些材料很容易变形。一般来 说,屏蔽场所越是坚固,衬垫材料选择余地就更大。

可能最难进行屏蔽防护的地方就是门上带有刃状物的地 方或是盖子。如果我们可以将封闭场所的门上带有刃状 物的地方弄平,那样屏蔽防护问题就很容易的被解决了, 但是这不仅操作起来相当难,而且花费也非常的高。

此外,我们还须记住以下几点:
  • 啮合面必须要干净,平坦,光滑,并且具有导电性 (不能有油漆,防腐剂,油脂)。
  • /
  • 理想的安装是在屏蔽场所外面进行的,当将螺丝敲进 屏蔽物以固定屏蔽盖的时候我们需要格外的小心谨慎。
  • /
  • 避免选用太硬的衬垫材料,因为太硬的材料和屏蔽物 的材料不配套。
  • /
  • 如果可能的话,尽量避免刃状物的地方。
  • /
  • 要考虑到周围的环境,尽量选用和环境相适应的不易 变质的衬垫材料,比如我们应该选用氟硅橡胶而不是 普通的硅橡胶,因为后者很容易受碳氢化合物的污染。
  • /
  • 要考虑到相应的温度范围。
  • /
  • 最贵的材料并不一定是最适合的材料。
  • /
  • 别为了省钱而牺牲产品的质量,这从长远来看是不明 智的。
  • /
  • 不要过于细化— 100db很适合,那60db是不是就不解 决问题了?
  • /
  • 如果可以的话,尽量使用标准化的产品。
  • /
  • 要考虑到电偶腐蚀的可能性。

电偶腐蚀会产生什么样的影响?

当两种不同金属的电极插进电解液当中,而露在外面的两端用导电介质连接时候,一种简易的电池就形成了,电子将从一个电极流到另一个电极。由于两种金属的不同,一个电极会成为原料电极而被不断的腐蚀。

用于制作封闭物体或是其它屏蔽物体得各种金属存在位差,我们用伏特作为其计量单位。下表就是将甘汞电极浸入海水中所得到得位差:

材料 位差 (Volts)
镀锌铸造合金 -1.10
镀锌铬酸盐钢 -1.05
镀cadium钢 -0.80
锻造铝,铸造铝镁合金 -0.75
钢铁:无抗腐蚀性 -0.70
硬铝 -0.60
镀锡铜包钢 -0.50
钢铁: 抗腐蚀, 12%〉铬 -0.45
镀锡钢 -0.45
镀铬酸盐镀镍钢 -0.45
抗腐蚀良好的钢铁 -0.35
铜及其合金 -0.25
镍铜合金 -0.25
0
碳(石墨乳) +0.10
黄金 +0.15
白金 +0.15

我们平常所说的危险是指将设备暴露在盐水,盐雾而变潮湿的环境中。

当机器不得不暴露在这样环境中的时候,位差的值大致如下:

  • 户外暴露或是容易遭受咸水污染, 0.3V
  • 潮湿但是没有咸水的环境, 0.5V

如果仪器是密封的并且任何暴露的边缘用带橡胶芯的丝网保护着,例如双的,双芯型的衬垫构造。 或者和金属丝的结合,例如在银(PD 0)和铝(PD -0.75)的环境下仪器必须全封闭或者选择双芯型的衬垫.

对设备内部的组件和电路有没有一些附加的保护措施?

非常简单,最佳的方法就是使用电路和木板隔离罩。 电路和木板隔离罩组成一道防护板,这道防护板有 一个可卸式的盖子。如果有需要的话,这个盖子上 面可以有通风孔和电缆的进出口。防护板上面有一 些标准的钉间距。用电路板隔离罩可以在很大程度 上降低辐射和磁化,这样就可以使整个屏蔽设备的 性价比大大提高。

You are here > Home > FAQ

Frequently Asked Questions

Products

Knitshield - Knitted Mesh

Available in six ranges depending on the use. Provides excellent EMI Shielding in enclosed areas.

Metweave - Woven Fabric Gasketing

Highly conductive fabric wrapped around a range of foam cores. Available in a wide range of colours and profiles.

Winshield - Shielded Windows

Strong, shielding effective and see-through. The strength of shielding, laminating and size are all completely specific to your order.

Silshield - Oriented Wires in Silicone

Long lasting and high strength oriented wires in solid or sponge silicone. Available in fire, water and chemical resistant forms.

Maxshield - Specialised Materials

Ultra thin materials supplied as pre-cut gaskets constructed to customers specific requirements or in sheets.

Ventshield - Attenuation Vents

Perfect for adding ventilation and airflow while not compromising on the quality of shielding protection. Made to your specification in materials ranging from aluminium honeycomb to galvanised or tin-plated heavy duty steel.

Exshield - Conductive Silicone

Highly conductive Silicone extrusions containing metal powder fillers. Available in a wide range of fillers, from Nickel to Pure Silver, conductive Silicone provides high attenuation and excellent environmental sealing.

Contact Finger Strips

Effective, non-flammable, long life strips in a wide range of profiles to suit all applications.

Conductive Foil Tapes

Our range of conductive foil tape offers a cost effective solution to EMC shielding. Tapes are available in both copper and aluminium with a conductive adhesive.

Connector Gaskets

Handformed and precision diecut gaskets made from a selection of materials.

Conductive Adhesives

One-part conductive particle filled room temperature curing (RTV) silicone rubber adhesives.

Non-Conductive Gaskets

Non-conductive gaskets manufactured from a wide range of materials to suit customer applications

How does magnetic shielding work?

When magnetic lines of flux encounter high permeability material, the magnetic forces are both absorbed by the material and redirected away from their target.

The most effective shields are constructed as enclosures such as boxes or cylinders with cap ends. The field follows the line of the enclosure so an enclosed shape keeps stray fields from finding gaps that could cause unintended interference.

What causes a magnetic field?

Most magnetic fields are man-made. They are found in solenoids, bar magnets and some motors and transformers. Magnetic fields are used in creative ways to create sound, microscopic images and record resonance images through MRI technology. In some cases, however, the fields interfere with sensitive electronic equipment and shielding is necessary.

What is Electromagnetic Interference?

Electromagnetic Interference (EMI) is electromagnetic energy that has an adverse effect on the performance of electrical/electronic equipment by creating undesirable responses or complete operational failure.

What is Electromagnetic Compatibility?

Electromagnetic Compatibility (EMC) is the ability of electrical or electronic equipment/systems to function in the intended operating environment without causing or experiencing performance degradation due to unintentional EMI.

Why do electromagnetic fields need magnetic shields?

EMI can be a problem for designers of many products. If we use mobile phones as an example, designers have to incorporate RFI shielding to stop unwanted RF emissions as well as to prevent other electrical equipment from interfering with the mobile phone operation. Designers may find that densely packed electronic assemblies may have internal components that interfere with each other, requiring electromagnetic shielding. When the EMI includes low frequency radiation, magnetic shielding is essential to assure proper operation of the electronic equipment.

What blocks magnetic fields?

There is no known material that blocks magnetic fields without it being attracted to the magnetic force. Magnetic fields can only be redirected, not created or removed. To do this, high-permeability shielding alloys are used. The magnetic field lines are strongly attracted into the shielding material.

Why must we achieve EMC?

Other than the fact that products that do not comply cannot be marked legally in the EC, more disruptive manifestations may exist that could affect the very manner in which we lead our lives. These encompass health and safety issues, the security of data processing and the functioning of vital electronic equipment. ABS brake systems, engine management systems, telecommunications and data transfer plus the security of both commercial and military data could all be readily compromised without adequate screening.

Other issues such as the dangers to health due to the emissions from mobile telephones and computer monitors plus ongoing research into the effects of living in close proximity to high voltage overhead power lines, all form part of the global concept of EMC. Some aspects can be easily controlled but others will continue to remain unresolved for years to come. The doomsday scenario of EMP (Electromagnetic Pulse) resulting from a high altitude nuclear explosion would certainly lead to the almost total loss of commercial communications and data processing plus much of the non-hardened military network, whilst at the same time avoiding the mass destruction of the infrastructure necessary for future use, possibly by the instigator of the blast.

In other words, potential chaos with no communications, services, power, media such as TV or radio and the loss of many forms of transport.

What are the main sources of EMI problems?

In all cases there has to be a source and a victim for a path to exist thereby permitting a radiated or conducted coupling. Electromagnetic Interference (EMI), results from the operation of electrical or electronic devices involving rapidly changing voltage or current levels, which cause the generation of electromagnetic energy at discrete frequencies and over frequency bands.

Discounting natural sources such as atmospherics or lightning, conduction and radiation emitting sources include:

  • Radar and communications transmitters
  • Receiver local oscillators
  • Computers and their peripherals
  • Motors and switches
  • Power lines
  • Fluorescent lights
  • Arc welders and many more...

How can EMI be contained?

In simple terms, welding the equipment into a seamless steel box could solve most 'shielding' problems. The problems that this would lead to are obvious - access would be impossible, power unavailable, visibility would be zero and the equipment would rapidly overheat.

We have, therefore, to permit suitable penetrations of the shield to allow cables to pass in and out, to provide airflow and to facilitate the viewing of LED/LCD or CRT displays.

Enclosures for equipment are commonly made from steel, aluminium and, with increasing popularity due to its aesthetic design capabilities, plastic. Plastic enclosures should be coated with a metalised compound applied by vacuum deposition, painting or sputter coating. Alternatively, a lining of aluminium or copper foil can provide excellent shielding effectiveness.

In brief, the metal (or metalised) enclosure will, in most instances, require gasketing to seal mating surfaces and to provide the necessary low impedance electrical bond, attenuating vent panels for airflow and shielded windows to prevent the whole 'open' area where a display is mounted from representing an unacceptable gap in the shielding.

Inspection panels and doors can be fitted with 'soft-closure' gaskets or with contact finger strips (CFS) which also provide high shielding effectiveness with long service life and ease of closure.

Connectors for cable entry should similarly be fitted with gaskets where necessary, conductive cable glands to connect with screened cables if these are incorporated in the specification.

What is Radio Frequency Interference?

Radio Frequency Interference (RFI) is considered as part of the EMI spectrum, with interference signals being within the radio frequency (RF) range. This term was once used interchangeably with EMI. Conducted RFI is most often found in the low frequency range of several kHz to 30MHz. Radiated RFI is most often found in the frequency range from 30MHz to 10GHz.

What is the difference between RF and magnetic shielding?

Radio frequency (RF) shielding is required when it is necessary to block high frequency – 100kHz and above – interference fields. These shields typically use copper, aluminium, galvanised steel, or conductive rubber, plastic or paints. These materials work at high frequencies by means of their high conductivity, and little or no magnetic permeability. Magnetic shields use their high permeability to attract magnetic fields and divert the magnetic energy through themselves. With proper construction, magnetic shielding alloys have the ability to function as broadband shields, shielding both RF and magnetic interference fields.

What do I have to consider when deciding the correct type of gasket?

Very often, the design of the equipment enclosure will dramatically limit the choice of gasket materials. Some enclosures are lightweight aluminium or even plastic with very little potential for withstanding distortion during compression of the shielding gasket. Normally, the more robust the enclosure is the wider the range of materials that can be employed for gasketing. Similarly, wide and well reinforced flanges permit higher compressive forces particularly where limit stops are fitted.

Possibly the most difficult configuration for conventional shielding exists where a 'knife-edge' return on a door or cover is to mate with a conductive gasket, in addition to providing an environmental seal to IP55 [PDF] or higher. If the enclosure can be modified to feature an additional return edge or flat where the knife-edge originally finished, the problem is easily solved but this is not always possible and is usually costly.

Also remember:
  • Mating surfaces must be clean, flat, smooth and conductive (no paint, preservative, oil or grease should be visible).
  • Ideal fixings are outside the shielded envelope and particular attention should be paid to screws/bolts passing through the enclosure to secure coverplates in position.
  • Avoid gasket materials that are too hard for the type of enclosure.
  • Avoid knife-edges wherever possible.
  • Consider the environment and select gasket materials that are suitable and will not degrade, e.g. fluorosilicone rubber instead of plain silicone where hydrocarbon contamination is likely.
  • Consider the operating temperature range.
  • Do not over-engineer the design. The most expensive materials are not always the right ones for the job. Do not under-engineer to save money, this does not work in the long-term.
  • Do not over-specify. 100dB may be comfortable but will 60dB solve the problem?
  • Use standard or 'catalogue' products wherever possible.
  • Consider the possibility of Galvanic Corrosion.

What effect can Galvanic Corrosion have?

Where electrodes of two different metals are immersed in an electrolyte and externally connected by a conductive media, a 'battery' is effectively created whereby electrons will flow from one electrode to the other. According to the potential difference between the two metals, one electrode will become the donor electrode and will gradually be eroded.

The potential difference, or PD, of various metals commonly used in enclosures and shielding materials, and expressed in volts, is indicated in the table which follows based on the potentials against saturated calomel electrode in sea water:

Material PD (Volts)
Zinc die-casting alloy -1.10
Zinc plating on steel chromate passivated -1.05
Cadium plating on steel -0.80
Aluminium, wrought, cast Al Magnesium alloy -0.75
Iron and steel: not corrosion resisting -0.70
Duralumin -0.60
Tin-plate (T.C.S) -0.50
Iron and steel: corrosion resisting, 12%Cr -0.45
Tin-plating on steel -0.45
Chromium plating on Nickel-plated steel -0.45
Iron and steel, corrosion resisting, High -0.35
Copper and its alloys -0.25
Nickel-copper alloys, incl. Mone -0.25
Silver 0
Carbon (colloidal graphite in acetone) +0.10
Gold +0.15
Platinum +0.15

The criteria most commonly employed to define a 'threat' is the likelihood of the equipment to be subjected to exposure to conditions of dampness or condensation through to wetting with salt water, salt mist/spray or the weather.

Where exposure is likely, the general rule of thumb regarding PD is as follows:

  • Outdoor exposure or saltwater/spray contamination 0.3 volts
  • Dampness or condensation without salt presence 0.5 volts

If the equipment is hermetically sealed and any exposed gasket edges are 'elastomer protected', i.e. with dual or twin gasket configuration there would then be no restriction. Some combinations of metals, such as Silver (PD 0) and Aluminium (PD -0.75), have inherent problems. In these circumstances, gaskets should be totally enclosed or of 'twinstrip' construction.

Is additional protection available for sensitive components or circuits inside the equipment?

Quite simply, the best route to take is to utilise Circuit Board Shielding cans. These comprise a board-mounted 'fence' with a demountable cover or lid. The cover can be supplied with ventilation holes and cable-entry points if required. The fences can be supplied with several standard pin spacings and with or without stand-offs. Using Circuit Board Shielding can considerably reduce radiation and susceptibility problems, thereby making the overall shielding of equipment more cost-effective.